Six Embry-Riddle Students Receive ISTAT Scholarships

The International Society of Transport Aircraft Trading (ISTAT) Foundation Scholarship Committee has selected six Embry-Riddle students at the Daytona Beach, Fla., and Prescott, Ariz., campuses to receive substantial scholarship support.

College-level students who are planning careers in aviation, are academically qualified and are in need of financial support to complete their studies are eligible for the scholarships. The program is administered by the Scholarship Committee of the ISTAT Foundation Board of Trustees in conjunction with accredited colleges who recommend qualified students. 

Adeline Hanerus will receive a $10,000 ISTAT Scholarship and a $10,000 Jon Batchelor Scholarship. Hailing from Sweden, she is a senior at the Daytona Beach Campus, earning a B.S. in Aviation Business Administration with a minor in Flight. At Embry-Riddle, Hanerus is a student assistant in the Radio Frequency Identification Lab; president of the Delta Mu Delta International Honors Society in Business, Eta Lambda Chapter; and a student mentor with the International Student Programming Council.

Michelle Bennett will receive a $16,000 ISTAT Scholarship. She is a junior at the Prescott Campus, earning a B.S. in Global Business with a dual concentration in Aviation/Aerospace and Arabic. Originally from Virginia, Bennett is a resident advisor on campus and a research assistant for the College of Aviation. She is currently an intern with The Boeing Company. After graduation, she intends to pursue a career in commercial aviation.

Nicholas Soh Cai Yao will receive a $4,700 ISTAT Scholarship and a $10,000 Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Scholarship. A resident of Singapore, he is a senior at Embry-Riddle’s Asia Campus, earning a B.S. in Aviation Business Administration. As a full-time student he juggles work and academics while also engaging in Embry-Riddle Asia activities. Read more about Nicholas Soh Cai Yao.

Dmytro Korobko from Ukraine will receive an $8,000 Jon Batchelor Scholarship. He is a senior at the Daytona Beach Campus, earning a B.S. in Aeronautical Science with a minor in Aviation Business Administration. At Embry-Riddle, he is a member of the Air Line Pilots Association’s Aviation Collegiate Education Club, the Honors Program and the Rock Climbing Club.  

Mark Stiles will receive an $8,000 Jon Batchelor Scholarship. A senior from Lake Mary, Fla., Stiles is pursuing a B.S. in Aeronautical Science (Airline Pilot concentration), with a minor in Unmanned Aircraft Systems Science at the Daytona Beach Campus. He is also a member of the Alpha Omicron Alpha Aeronautical Honor Society and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

Will Marshall at the Daytona Beach Campus will receive a Jon Batchelor Scholarship.

You know WHERE you’re going. We help you GET THERE.

Learn more about Aviation @ Embry-Riddle

Add a Comment

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, the world’s largest, fully accredited university specializing in aviation and aerospace, is a nonprofit, independent institution offering more than 80 baccalaureate, master’s and Ph.D. degree programs in its colleges of Arts & Sciences, Aviation, Business, Engineering and Security & Intelligence. Embry-Riddle educates students at residential campuses in Daytona Beach, Fla., and Prescott, Ariz., through the Worldwide Campus with more than 125 locations in the United States, Europe, Asia and the Middle East, and through online programs. The university is a major research center, seeking solutions to real-world problems in partnership with the aerospace industry, other universities and government agencies. For more information, visit, follow us on Twitter (@EmbryRiddle) and, and find expert videos at